PDA

View Full Version : How important is good framing?

spiralizer
10-17-2012, 08:05 PM
Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to the high-end poster world and have seen lots of back and forth about framing. After buying some of these things, I dont have a ton of money left for custom framing.

Just how important is a quality frame for high-end prints? Is a cheap frame going to damage them? Please help!

FROBAY
10-17-2012, 09:52 PM
I think a cheap frame is better than no frame. A print behind glass is better than a print in a tube, I wouldn't want to leave a print in a tube for years as I think it will age/yellow sooner than if it was behind glass.

I recommend getting a portfolio to store your prints flat and a frame that let's you front load your poster, this way you won't go broke trying to frame all your prints, just switch your posters in and out of the same frame.

demonhunter
10-17-2012, 10:32 PM
http://www.frametek.com/images/general/article/pastel/Pastel_Fig4a.gif

If you live in a wet and humid place like me, I think it's better to get the spacers for your frames.

So that the posters, pictures or art does not touch the glass and a bit of room for air. Or else mold may grow.

Luminous
10-18-2012, 01:29 AM
Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to the high-end poster world and have seen lots of back and forth about framing. After buying some of these things, I dont have a ton of money left for custom framing.

Just how important is a quality frame for high-end prints? Is a cheap frame going to damage them? Please help!