PDA

View Full Version : Questions..

djsupes
10-05-2005, 08:54 PM
Hi guys, other than having a background in painting "warhammer" in grade 7 (4 years ago - man was that a bad hobby), I have no experience whatsoever. I'm a graphic designer so I have somewhat of an idea of what looks good and not, so I'd assume that would help me A LITTLE..lol. Anyways, I was thinking of getting started on painting some busts, but it's quite expensive..Is there a nice small set of paints I could buy for an affordable price, and some affordable busts that won't really matter if I SCREW up on (probably will)? I have the brushes..although I'm not too good with anything but solid colors. How would I go about mixing and creating the shades and what not I see around here? Also,

where do I purchase Gabe Perna's sculptures?

All I've found is KillingTime and I was thinking of buying the clear Ice man for $55 US, but how would I paint it since it's clear? I would like to add a frosty effect like the Bowen one but NOTHING else..just frost :buttrock:

Anyways, not sure if this is the hobby for me - I want something to do and I liked doing Warhammer, it's just expensive u kno..

Thanks

kyle

djsupes
10-05-2005, 08:55 PM
Also, links to cheap busts ($25 and under) to start my beginning stuff on would be appreciated. Superhero only of course. Thank you :)

Twoguns-Crowley
10-05-2005, 11:40 PM
A site called Endless Enterprises also exists that has a few Perna items. I would highly suggest that you don't buy anything from them, you'll get plenty of excuses but no kits. I only mention them to help you avoid them.

RickDTM
10-06-2005, 06:48 AM
Killing Time is probably your best bet for getting Gabe's sculpts. Randy runs a good business and will take care of you. That being said, if you thought Warhammer was expensive ( it is, I STILL paint those things!) painting kits and such will likely be as expensive if not more so.