PDA

View Full Version : Pinning Kits

Jesse321
08-11-2007, 05:04 PM
I've got a couple of kits that I'm putting together and I wanted to ask the masters a question about pinning.

When pinning a kit, I'm assuming that the goal is for the pin to fit as snuggly as possible to assure a good strong hold.

Here's the problem, I'm testing a few different materials with a few different sized drill and dremel bits, but nothing seems to fit REALLY snug. I'm trying, wire hangers, finishing nails etc. but I can't seem to find the right sized drill or dremel bit to fit the exact width of the pin I'm trying to use. I've come pretty darn close, but I can't sem to find that perfect fit of hole to pin.

Anyone got any advice on what to use that in their experience make a proper fit?

'Nuff
08-11-2007, 05:09 PM
I'm no expert...But you need to leave a little room for the epoxy...:thumbs2:

HELLION
08-11-2007, 05:18 PM
When pinning a kit, I'm assuming that the goal is for the pin to fit as snuggly as possible to assure a good strong hold.

I do not believe an exact fit is required but I an no expert. I have however pinned my own statues and believe that assuring a good strong hold is up to the epoxy you use. I use a five minute cement, roll it into a thin cylinder and slide it down the hole on both sides filling up as much as you can then insert your pin and attach the piece. Hold for five and your good then extra support will be made when you close the seam with your favorite epoxy.
It has worked for me and I hope this helps,
[H]

Danno
08-11-2007, 05:23 PM
I don't always pin with 2 tight snug fitting areas. Many times I leave a little play and drill the hole slightly larger than the pin to ensure that the epoxy will make a good bond between the pin and the resin

boondocksaint
08-11-2007, 05:24 PM
i use 1/8 drill bit and 1/8 brass rod which can be picked up at a hobby store or a hardware store

Jesse321
08-11-2007, 05:25 PM
Thanks guys. :)

fenix v.2.0
08-12-2007, 12:39 PM