PDA

View Full Version : Collector's turned sculptor's? Thanks Villafane & Zkulptor

Kdawg59
08-27-2004, 09:43 AM
We all love statues, garage kits, action figures...

I am curious as to how many of you out there have turned your passion for collecting this stuff into working on your own sculptures as the next level?

I know I have. I graduated college with a fine arts degree, part of which entailed 3-D sculpture. Back then I hated it... really bad. There was nothing I wanted to really work on that my professor and I saw eye to eye on. My passion was illustration.

I went back to school and went the path of Computer Design and now I do websites, illustration, print, interactive demo cd, a little 3dMax. I have wanted to try my hand at sculpting for awhile (like about 4 years) but have never really had the means, the knowledge, or the tutelage to do so.

The cool thing is this... I have connected with a few people through the Bowen Forum and in actuality 2 of the people that have helped me get my start. Ray Villafane and Zkulptor. I am the designer for Ray's site and will be for Zkulptor and through working for them, they have been providing me with tips and suggestions. These guys are top notch and have been a great resource. Randy said once that he hired people with talent, but more importantly great attitude. These two have both in spades. Who knows how my first sculpt will turn out but I am gonna give it my best for sure. Here is a pic of my first armature as well as the pose I am planning on. (no it won't be Psylocke, but it will be a Marvel female). Thanks again to Ray and Z. I will be posting more progress shots as I have them. stay tuned.

http://www.pwb.com/acom_images/keithtest/step2.jpg
http://www.pwb.com/acom_images/keithtest/psylocke.jpg

I wanna hear your stories about this if you have them, or if not perhaps a tale about something else that this hobby of collecting has fueled in you.

Thanks for "listening"

~Dawg

Zurbaran1
08-27-2004, 10:02 AM