PDA

View Full Version : Research Needed to Attend SDCC 2010

BobAgentOfHYDRA
10-19-2009, 03:32 PM
Hi all,

I am relatively new at the convention scene, but after attending NYCC 09 and the recent Big Apple Con, I have the sudden urge to go to the big show, SDCC 2010. I know there are a lot of convention pros here so I was wondering what kind of research do I have to do to make this trip a reality.

The ideal situation would be to go to San Diego for the entire week of con with my friends who are not into comics to see Cali. Then on the weekends I would nerd out at SDCC.

Most important:
1. How much for a weekend pass?
2. Is it worth it to go all three days?
3. How much should I be expecting to drop for flight and hotel?

Any other information or experience you can share would be helpful as well. Hopefull I can get the ball rolling on this and experience the awesomeness of SDCC. Hell maybe I could even meet Olivia Munn.

Scottsdale Saint
10-19-2009, 04:36 PM
SDCC is actually four and half days if you include the Wednesday preview night. They don't have weekend passes, but you can buy individual days, depending on the days you want to go, I've gone on ten different occassions and had fun going every single minute of every single day, but I'm a geek that way. I'd say a weekend would be a good intro to SDCC, as it is a whole lot to digest for a newbie.

Round trip airfare costs what it costs usually, there isn't a price bump for SDCC, but I'm sure that depending on the flights you want, the cheaper flights could sell out more quickly. Hotels are a different story altogether, and if you need one, reserving your room sooner rather than later is recommended. Generally the closer to the convention center you are, the pricier, and the sooner they are at full capacity. Good luck.

BobAgentOfHYDRA
10-19-2009, 05:16 PM