PDA

View Full Version : Can I really do this for a living?

BeerNutta
01-02-2010, 01:03 AM
Heya Guys,

Ive been thinking of quitting my job and taking photos full time for a living.

Just not sure if I am good enough seeing that I have only been shooting for 10 months.

What do you guys think?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/42992715@N06/

Some pics are NSFW.

rilynil
01-02-2010, 02:01 AM
VERY nice work, BeerNutta! Those are some great pictures!

dr_teng
01-02-2010, 02:02 AM
Photography is a difficult field to get into right now while maintaining any sort of reasonable income stream. Ultimately, it's less about what you can shoot than how you can market yourself.

I liked some of your shots, disliked some others, but the main issue when you'll be making a portfolio (instead of a general flickr account) will be showing off your unique style within the field that your clients are interested in. That's one reason a lot of photographers I know have multiple portfolios. For example, you'd want a different one for your product/food photography than for portraiture.

If you take it seriously and you get lucky, most likely, you'll be able to make a living at it. I suggest reading over this extensively :

http://www.asmp.org/strictlybusiness/

galactus
01-02-2010, 02:06 AM
I've heard the best way of making a living out of this is to get bitten by a radioactive spider, dress up in a costume to fight crime and to take photos of YOURSELF in the process. These photos are usually worth enough to afford a nice apartment in New York City and date supermodels!! :thumbs2:

BeerNutta
01-02-2010, 02:46 AM
Thanks Drew,

My day job is a Nuclear Medicine Technologist. I have been catching spiders and irradiating them. Then trying to get them to mate. So I can create a super spider!

Supermodels here I come.

Rocket
01-02-2010, 02:52 AM