Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Sculptor's Pit Stop

Old 12-05-2005, 06:18 PM   #1
PavingMantis
Doh!

Sculpting Fins

Tried to search for a fin topic, didn't find anything like I was looking for. I'm a novice at sculpting, and haven't developed or learned many tricks yet.

Basically, I want to sculpt a head fin. I had a few ideas on how to do it.

The first was to roll sculpty out into a sheet the preferred width, cut out my shape and bake it, or bake the sheet and then sand down my fin shape. Then apply it to the sculpt, and touch up as needed.

The other was to get some kind of metal sheeting and cut out the shape, epoxy it onto the sculpt, and then apply my medium (Super Sculpty). The only thing was I'm not sure how well epoxy holds to baked sculpty, and how it would behave during subsequent bakings.

I'm leaning towards the metal sheeting route, as I think it will add more strength to the fin, and I could play around with the shape without worrying about breaking the fin off. I thought I'd bring it up here and maybe get some other tips, opinions, or comments on exposing epoxy to baking. Thanks for your time.
PavingMantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 09:11 PM   #2
Mr. Farrell
I took an IQ test and the results were negative.

I'll tell you how I've done it in the past, but your results may vary:

I make a loop out of thin wire, cover it with a little tinfoil, put it into the body of the sculpture (or head, in this case), then cover both sides of the foil in Sculpey (note: no "T" in "Sculpey!") From there I shape and thin the fins with a flat tool (I used a non-serated butterknife) and sometimes shave it a little thinner with an exacto or clay cutter, which is the best $.75 tool I ever bought! Smooth it with a little dab of petroleum jelly or maybe paint thinner, which I'm careful to let evaporate before I bake it.

Here's an example of this technique used on Chubby da Choona from DC Comics' Seaguy: