Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Painter's Pit Stop

Old 03-18-2011, 07:25 PM   #1
Tangyson
A day without sunshine is like... night.

Need some info on painting a kit

Hey all Im new to painting. Im fixing to paint a model kit, so i scrubbed it first to remove the mold realease then I primed it with krylon white primer them I gave it a base coat using an air brush with createx paint, but even when the paint seems to be dry it seems that I can scratch it off, my question is do I need to use some sort of sealer for the paint so it wont come off?, or did I miss a step or do something wrong??
Tangyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 10:53 PM   #2
riderV3
ROT Minister of Scientific Emergency Management

It sounds like the Createx layer is too soft...

If you want fast drying hard paint layer, use lacquer base paint such as Mr.Colors.

I personally do not recommand any paint that you can pick up from Michael's/Hobby Lobby.

I use Tamiya for most of my stuff, and sometimes enamel from Testors.

Go to your local hobby shop such as HobbytownUSA, they usually have a better selection of specialty paint.
riderV3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:14 PM   #3
skorpsta
Ghost

Quote:
Originally Posted by riderV3 View Post
It sounds like the Createx layer is too soft...

If you want fast drying hard paint layer, use lacquer base paint such as Mr.Colors.

I personally do not recommand any paint that you can pick up from Michael's/Hobby Lobby.

I use Tamiya for most of my stuff, and sometimes enamel from Testors.

Go to your local hobby shop such as HobbytownUSA, they usually have a better selection of specialty paint.