Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Other Stuff > General Discussion

Old 12-25-2014, 02:52 PM   #1
Agähnim
I took an IQ test and the results were negative.

Career change at 30

I'm in a bit of a bind here. I've been doing a/c work for over 7 years now but, having done sports and working physically demanding jobs over the years has finally caught up to me. I've been having some serious back issues over the past year and this past Saturday it was at it's worst. I had to take a week off of work and had some scans done (still waiting for the report) but, I can't see myself continuing on this career path for the next 25+ years. The last thing I want is to have any kind of permanent damage. I even managed to miss out on holiday pay as our company states you have to work the day before or after to be eligible for holiday pay -_-

One reason why I like this line of work is due to the fact that I get to work by myself most of the time and have little to no customer/employee interactions (commercial a/c). I'm not sure what other jobs are out there with that kind of job description but, I really don't have much to fall back on. I was a ramp agent (loading/offloading planes) after high school and from there I went on to a/c work. I thought about truck driving but I don't think my back will favor that too much.

I was fortunate to pay my house and car off, so I'm not trying to chase the highest paying job and I don't even care if it's full time. I'm at the point where I just want to find something I can enjoy and not have it take a toll on my body.

Just curious to see if any of you have suggestions on jobs out there that I should look into.
Agähnim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 03:02 PM   #2
CessnaDriver
Suicide Squad

What are the industries in your area?
Are there vocational schools? Sometimes there
are low cost ones, California has Regional Occupational Training ROP for instance.
Probably will have to do things in stages.