Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Painter's Pit Stop

Old 01-27-2016, 04:14 PM   #1
Blasterkid
I took an IQ test and the results were negative.

Hi new here, pro comic artist saying hello

Hey wanted to pop in and say hi first off.

My name is Richard Friend...I also go by Blasterkid on deviant art etc. I've been a professional comic artist now for about 15 years.....I've worked on Batman, Batman Dark Knight with David Finch, Arkham Knight, Wonder Woman...and really a ton of stuff for DC and if you know comics really well...I started out at Wildstorm with Jim Lee....I've inked Jim and shared a studio with him for about 12 years.

I broke in originally working with J. Scott Campbell, and worked with and was studio mates with some of the best comic artists of our generation. Travis Charest, Lee Bermejo who designed the Batman Noel, just on and on.

I am huge fan of statues...although I don't have too many yet...but I wanted to get into maybe painting or repainting some of the pieces I have....first up with be the original Poison Ivy premium format figure...I actually got a very nice one...with a solid paint job...but I really think I could do more with it. I bought a fantastic Japanese airbrush at this past comic con...more for doing paintings on board etc....but now I am thinking....hmmm..statues would be really fun/

I wanted first just to say hi...and get to know people here...so this is me mainly dipping my toes in the water to say hello...and then I will start working my way through the threads here and try and narrow in on what I am going to need.

To be honest I've considered going into doing my own custom sculpts...I have a series of original pieces I do...that might look amazing in statue form.

my main first question is....is there a main brand of paint people gravitate to when doing repaints?

anway....I just wanted to say hi....and maybe to get the ball rolling with a hello and a single question
looking forward to meeting you all.