Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Sculptor's Pit Stop

Old 09-18-2009, 01:32 AM   #1
minisweet
Frackin!

Talking Yet another noob looking for answers!

Hello there! I'm fairly new to the sculpting scene (just beginning, actually), and I've done all my research to what seems to be the best of my abilities, but I find I still have a few questions. I apologize in advance if any of these have already been answered on these forums - I did do a search, but I am only human, and I may have missed some answers!

My questions are:
  1. Is it better to wet your wood base before baking, or leave it dry? I have an untreated piece of Basswood.
  2. I purchased Isopropanol 99% (Isopropyl Alcohol USP) to smooth out the rough spots on my super sculpey - is this too high a percentage? should I water it down? The only other option was 70%, and I wasn't sure if that would be good enough...?
  3. Speaking of the Isopropanol... I'm slightly apprehensive about putting a sculpture rubbed with it in the oven since it is flammable stuff. Does it give off fumes when baked? Has anyone ever had it catch on fire? Just concerned since Isopropyl Alcohol is basically made of Propane. lol

I think that's it for now... if I think of anything else, I'll be sure to add it!

Thank you so much to anyone who can provide me answers!

~Kathleen~
minisweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:02 AM   #2
DarkKni9hT
100,000 sperm and you were the fastest?

First off, welcome to the forums and to our little hobby/obsession. You'll find we're a friendly lot in general and we look forward to trashing your first WIP. J/K.
To try and answer your questions, and keep in mind there are rarely definitive answers to most questions. It's usually a matter of trial and error until you find what works for you.