Statue Forum 


XM Studios





StatueForum on Twitter StatueForum on Facebook StatueForum on YouTube
Go Back   Statue Forum > Other Stuff > Home Economics > Auto Shop

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2011, 10:26 PM   #1
joefixit2
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
joefixit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: we know each other, he's a friend from work
Posts: 15,861
car airconditioner

Okay, I know a little about cars but nothing about air conditioners. My truck air conditioner has four settings and suddenly today the first three no longer work. Any chance I can fix it myself?
joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:34 PM   #2
rychehitman
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
rychehitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the void
Posts: 31,161
oftentimes it is cheaper to just get a freon injection for less than $100 than fix an extensive problem that could cost thousands. Most likely you have a leak. Any decent mechanic in your area should be able to inject dye into the system and scan for a leak.
rychehitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:38 PM   #3
lord odin
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
lord odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ASGARD
Posts: 17,497
Could be your blower motor fan speed resistor.
You need to post make/model and year for better help from a mechanic.
lord odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:41 PM   #4
joefixit2
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
joefixit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: we know each other, he's a friend from work
Posts: 15,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord odin View Post
Could be your blower motor fan speed resistor.
You need to post make/model and year for better help from a mechanic.
it's a 2005 chevy colorado.
joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:42 PM   #5
joefixit2
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
joefixit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: we know each other, he's a friend from work
Posts: 15,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by rychehitman View Post
oftentimes it is cheaper to just get a freon injection for less than $100 than fix an extensive problem that could cost thousands. Most likely you have a leak. Any decent mechanic in your area should be able to inject dye into the system and scan for a leak.
yeah, I'm trying to avoid a large bill. I really don't use airconditioning when it is just me in the car, only when the family is in.
joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:51 PM   #6
lord odin
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
lord odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ASGARD
Posts: 17,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefixit2 View Post
yeah, I'm trying to avoid a large bill. I really don't use airconditioning when it is just me in the car, only when the family is in.
If you don't know any mechanic check with some friends they might know one.
It sounds to me like your blower motor resistor is bad or the wire to it.
Check to see if the wire to the blower is plugged in tight that could be your problem and doesn't take but 2 minutes to fix.
Start your truck and while it's running put it on one of the settings that's not working and wiggle the wire that goes to the blower.This is easier if you have someone in the truck to let you know if it's working instead of going back and forth yourself.
lord odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:54 PM   #7
lord odin
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
lord odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ASGARD
Posts: 17,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by rychehitman View Post
oftentimes it is cheaper to just get a freon injection for less than $100 than fix an extensive problem that could cost thousands. Most likely you have a leak. Any decent mechanic in your area should be able to inject dye into the system and scan for a leak.
He said 3 out of 4 of the settings don't work so I don't think it's a leak.
Now if all the settings didn't work I would say it could be a leak.
lord odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:16 PM   #8
joefixit2
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
joefixit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: we know each other, he's a friend from work
Posts: 15,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord odin View Post
If you don't know any mechanic check with some friends they might know one.
It sounds to me like your blower motor resistor is bad or the wire to it.
Check to see if the wire to the blower is plugged in tight that could be your problem and doesn't take but 2 minutes to fix.
Start your truck and while it's running put it on one of the settings that's not working and wiggle the wire that goes to the blower.This is easier if you have someone in the truck to let you know if it's working instead of going back and forth yourself.
Thanks! I will give this a try tomorrow.
joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:50 AM   #9
bigsilva77
The quickest way to double your money is to fold it in half and put it back in your pocket.
 
bigsilva77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: So.CA.
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by rychehitman View Post
oftentimes it is cheaper to just get a freon injection for less than $100 than fix an extensive problem that could cost thousands. Most likely you have a leak. Any decent mechanic in your area should be able to inject dye into the system and scan for a leak.
No: he's wrong it's not a leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by lord odin View Post
Could be your blower motor fan speed resistor.

You need to post make/model and year for better help from a mechanic.

It possibly it could be the resistor: I think it's the switch. (the piece you control the speeds)


make and model does matter for common issues, but in this case that Vehicles it's most of the time the switch.
bigsilva77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 06:51 PM   #10
The Batfan
It's not hard to meet expenses, they're everywhere.
 
The Batfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Georgia,Usa
Posts: 4,782
Steve it sounds like it could be the switch but I did some research and seems that a common thing on those trucks here is the info on how to fix an 04 but should work on 05 as well

http://www.355nation.net/forum/how-i...placement.html
The Batfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS

Prototypezstudios

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright StatueForum.com