Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > News and Updates > CKinSD Conventions

Old 05-20-2013, 07:38 PM   #1
Andrew
3 kinds of people: those who can count & those who can't.
Adamantium Plus Member

My 1st Wonderfest Experience (with 120+ pics)

Genesis;

So I'm new to the modeling hobby and a brand new painter. Back in March, I contacted Jesse Garcia (Jesse321) to ask about what airbrush he recommended as well as a good air compressor since I was interested in painting my own kits. He told me to call him on the phone and we had a nice conversation about painting and he sold me on taking his class at Wonderfest. So in anticipation of the class I slowly started buying some kits and eagerly awaited the show.
I hooked up with David Diaz (boondocksaint) and David Miranda (Alucard) and we all drove up together early Thursday morning after they drove to my house from NY. It was a nine hour drive for us, but it was smooth sailing the whole way. After we got to the Crown Plaza Hotel, I got to meet Jesse and his crew and saw first hand what it takes to set up a paint class. Mad props to him for doing what it took to get everything that was needed. It was A LOT of work!

My unbiased review of the Garage Kit Color's paint class;

So I went into this class as an absolute rookie to painting. I've never even picked up an airbrush or turned on a compressor. I was fairly starstruck with the idea that both Rick Cantu and Jim Capone were going to be the teachers of the class. After all, these guys are one of the best. Unfortunately, after the class was over, I realized something. The class was a one size fits all experience. There were first time painters, like myself. There were intermediate painters. There were advanced painters. From what I observed, the ones that probably got the most out of the class were the intermediate and advanced painters.