Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > News and Updates > Statue Reviews

Old 04-11-2006, 01:56 AM   #1
bat_collector
Galactus

Moore Studios Kabuki Statue Review

After a brief statue review hiatus, I'm coming back strong and hopefully re-establishing my statue review on Monday routine. This weeks comes my first, but certainly not last, review of a Clay Moore Studio's statue, the Kabuki statue, based off of David Mack's work. This is sculpted by Clay Moore.

Statue Concept:
Concept wise this is one the hardest reviews I've had to do. Being totally unfamilair with Mack's work on Kabuki, I have no source material knowledge to know just how good an adaption this statue is from the work. Pretty much its not much more to me than Hot Asian Ninja Chick. So, if she isn't a ninja assassin, please forgive me, as it seems exactly what she is. However, I can say whatever Moore is going for, its works. Kabuki is standing on a base with two edged weapons ready to strike. The sculpt is supposed to exude a mixture of beauty, sexiness, and deadliness. Dragon-themed tatoo, wrist bands, and blades are in sharp contrast to the angelic, even demure face paint.

The Sculpt:
A fanastic concept is perfeclty executed with a jaw-dropping sculpt. In fact, perfect is the only adjective that I could use that I feel properly describes this statue. A statue should look great from varoius angles, and this one is a home run if displayed from behind, from either side, or from the front.