Statue Forum 





StatueForum on Twitter StatueForum on Facebook StatueForum on YouTube
Go Back   Statue Forum > Other Stuff > Home Economics > IT Department

» Spotlight
DGK Diamond Select Premier Wolverine Statue DGK Prime 1 Kong Vs Skull Crawler DGK First 4 Figures Ornstein Exclusive Current Interview:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2011, 10:15 AM   #21
Primal
Optimal Writer
 
Primal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 20,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbr3bagshotrow View Post
Looks remarkably like one I have at home.

I only have 1 complaint with it.

I typicallly use a SD card for the "Speedburst" option (where files typically used by the OS are on the hard drive but are copied to the SD card for performance improvement.) The SD card slots are under a door and the door has to remain open when the SD card is inserted.

It's a minor beef but otherwise I've been very happy with my Inspiron.
Yeah when you mentioned it I decided to look it up and it seemed to have what I needed. Thanx for that btw. I dont mind the door being opened for the SD cards since I only use them when I'm uploading pics then it's back out they go.
Primal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 10:26 AM   #22
nbr3bagshotrow
Mod of the Rings
Super Moderator
 
nbr3bagshotrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Shire
Posts: 33,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primal View Post
Yeah when you mentioned it I decided to look it up and it seemed to have what I needed. Thanx for that btw. I dont mind the door being opened for the SD cards since I only use them when I'm uploading pics then it's back out they go.
I like that yours has 1TB HDD. Mine only has 540. But I've only filled it half way anyways.

And I really like WIndow 7.
__________________
The damn thing's invisible!
nbr3bagshotrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 10:53 AM   #23
Primal
Optimal Writer
 
Primal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 20,111
Yeah hopefully 1TB isnt unstable anymore these days. I remember some years back we were having issues with 1TB drives getting corrupted. On a side note, it looks like this one is upgradable to 8GB RAM so I'm happy with that.
Primal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:04 AM   #24
Collection King 13
You Should Punch Your Face in the Face!!!
Adamantium Plus Member
 
Collection King 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boogie Down Bronx
Posts: 50,613
Upgrade the Mem to 8GB
__________________

"Grailability" -One collectibles potential on becoming a Grail Piece. Pronunciation [greyl-uh-bil-i-tee]
"Flipphobia" -One collectors morbid fear of flippers. Pronunciation [flip-foh-bee-uh]
"Flipollector" -One Who Flips with the intent of purchasing something else for their collection. Pronunciation [flip-uh-lek-ter]
http://statueforum.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=75&dateline=1236098318
Collection King 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:42 AM   #25
Vince-Vell
Cosmic Painter
Painter
 
Vince-Vell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In Da Studio!
Posts: 15,368
I guess for the price its a decent PC, all tho im not a fan of the i3 chip in it. if you dont plan to play games or use intensive programs like photoshop its fine.

But down the line in 3-4 years i3 will be a single core duo now. Cause even laptops have a i5 chip in them.

Just expect it to be a throw away PC in 3 years.
Vince-Vell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:51 AM   #26
Primal
Optimal Writer
 
Primal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 20,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Collection King 13 View Post
Upgrade the Mem to 8GB
Yep. I'll be doing that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince-Vell View Post
I guess for the price its a decent PC, all tho im not a fan of the i3 chip in it. if you dont plan to play games or use intensive programs like photoshop its fine.

But down the line in 3-4 years i3 will be a single core duo now. Cause even laptops have a i5 chip in them.

Just expect it to be a throw away PC in 3 years.
This wont be able to handle photoshop???
Primal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 12:01 PM   #27
nbr3bagshotrow
Mod of the Rings
Super Moderator
 
nbr3bagshotrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Shire
Posts: 33,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primal View Post
Yep. I'll be doing that.



This wont be able to handle photoshop???
I run Photoshop on my Inspiron and it's 2-3 years old and only has 4 GB and probably has an older CPU. No issues for me.
__________________
The damn thing's invisible!
nbr3bagshotrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 12:07 PM   #28
Vince-Vell
Cosmic Painter
Painter
 
Vince-Vell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In Da Studio!
Posts: 15,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primal View Post
Yep. I'll be doing that.



This wont be able to handle photoshop???
it will handle it, but down the line if you upgrade PS to newer versions it may suck up more of the CPU with a i3.


On my Macbook Pro, its a i7 and its a beast when it comes to adobe illustrator and PS, even booting into bootcamp its great with games.

My brothers laptop that has a i3 with windows 7 seems to limited and cpu struggles sometimes to me.

Laptop i can see with a i3, a desktop i cant see anything less then a i7. just my view on it.
Vince-Vell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 12:36 PM   #29
dr_teng
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primal View Post
This wont be able to handle photoshop???
Handling Photoshop is a pretty broad term. If you're doing serious photo editing, high resolution stuff with a bunch of layers? You'll run into some issues. If you're doing basic edits? You should be fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 09:28 AM   #30
Primal
Optimal Writer
 
Primal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 20,111
Thanx for the info guys.
Got the Inspiron 620 but opted for one with i5 and upgraded to 8GB RAM.

Primal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS

Prototypezstudios

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright StatueForum.com