Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Other Stuff > General Discussion

Old 02-08-2022, 01:28 PM   #1
cyberpunk12
Shadowhawk

Question Selling your collection online and tax implications

Hey everyone... since a lot of us sell statues and collectibles, I was wondering how the rest of you (in the US) are going to handle the new tax rules for 2022.

The way I understand it, once you go over $600 in online payments, you will get a 1099-K and have to report it (American Rescue Plan) in 2023.

I'm reading that Uncle Sam is going to want as much as 28% of the sales, regardless of profit/loss.

I'm no tax expert but I've got to start unloading and it looks like I waited at least a year too late.

I was just wondering how the rest of you are preparing and how I should save enough for the tax man.

Thanks!
cyberpunk12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2022, 01:32 PM   #2
Mister H
Gen 13

Get paid with cash.
Mister H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2022, 01:43 PM   #3
jeremydmc
Black Panther

I'm pretty much at the point I will try and sell it at my local comic book shop. If it doesn't sell in a few months I will probably just donate it and write it off on my taxes. I would rather give it away than have to pay taxes yet again if I sell it online.
jeremydmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2022, 01:45 PM   #4
Augen
Metal Men

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremydmc View Post
I'm pretty much at the point I will try and sell it at my local comic book shop. If it doesn't sell in a few months I will probably just donate it and write it off on my taxes. I would rather give it away than have to pay taxes yet again if I sell it online.
If I trusted someone on here I'd take the chance they played the long game for years on this forum just to con me out of a statue.
Augen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2022, 01:48 PM   #5
jeremydmc
Black Panther

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augen View Post