Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Comic Heroes > Comic Book Art/Commissions/Sketches

Old 05-13-2017, 10:19 AM   #1
superboylives
Mephisto

How do you choose your original comic art?

Choosing a commission is easy for me. You have an artist you like and a particular character you want and you cross your fingers until you see the final results. With the commission prices increasing I’ve started to look at original comic pages as an alternative. Specifically original comic pages made in the past 5-10 yrs. So we’re not talking Kirby or Miller’s Dark Knight. I realize that all comic art has jumped in price, but the nostaligic collector is paying a premium.

I’m new to this so I have a few questions for collectors. How are you picking which art to purchase? Does the page or cover appeal to you because you loved the story? Is it because it's composed or drawn well? (I’ve seen covers go for a ton of money, but all of the color is missing on the inked page so it appears to be missing detail to me.) Is it character driven? Like a Jim Lee Batman or Ditko Spider-man page. What’s the big deal about a splash page? Does it matter if you’ve never read the book? Does it matter if the penciler inked the art or should the price be less if it is inked by someone else and it has blue pencil underneath? What if the final art is light boxed or drawn over digital pencils and the penciler hasn’t left a mark on the final art? Should these pieces cost less? I would love to hear all of your opinions. We all buy what we like so there isn’t a wrong answer. Thanks.
superboylives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 12:48 PM   #2
Punisher1919
Death is hereditary.