Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Sculptor's Pit Stop

Old 10-29-2006, 09:36 PM   #1
xenoviper
Frackin!

Lightbulb *HELP* Choosing the right sculpting material

I was just wondering what sort of sculpting material should i use for sculpting 1:6 heads?
I've read that sculpey is too soft for detailing so best to go for super sculpey. Since im new to this i would require heaps of time to work on the facial expression and detailing so is sculpey the only material that allows you to have the most work time? what alternatives do i have?

Thanks in advance!
xenoviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 05:00 PM   #2
Ceramicus
42.7 percent of all statistics are made up on the spot.

xenoviper,

Super Sculpey is a relatively good material for this. The more firm versions are very good for getting the results you're looking for. However, there are a number of materials that work well also, and it really depends on your comfort zone when working with them.

I would suggest any of these materials as alternatives: Chavant clay products -- NSP Hard, or Y2 Klay, or Casteline (again, hard grade)

These materials must be warmed to work, but they yeild very good results. Note: Casteline can be somewhat grainy, so I would experiment with the others first.

Any of these materials can also be used to create a rough sketch of the head from which you may make a waste mold. You can then cast up a wax version which will allow you to get even sharper, more refined details.

Take Care,

Will
Ceramicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 05:01 PM   #3
Kdawg59
Sculptor of Gods
ProducerSculptor

What he said....
Old 10-31-2006, 09:03 PM   #4
recrisp
Doh!

XV,

First you'd need to know what you plan on doing with the end result, paint it or cast it.
If you plan on just sculpting it, then painting it, Super Sculpey's what would work best.
You can also cast it too...

If you plan on casting these, then any of the above is good, but you can't paint the raw