Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Comic Heroes > Comics

Old 08-27-2014, 08:46 PM   #1
Bangalf
Doh!

The Perks of Being a Superhero Fan

Hi Guys,

I’m new to the forum, so I hope this is the right place for this post.

I’m a student and comic book fan from Germany and I’m currently doing some research for a school project on superhero fandom in the U.S. I’m particularly interested in the appeal of superhero comics and how fans express their devotion to the genre. I’ve read much of the material that already exists on the topic, and during my studies abroad, I attended conventions and went to comic book stores where I could make some observations concerning fandom; also I had the opportunity to make friends with fans that helped me to get an insight into American fandom. Nevertheless, I would like to read more opinions/personal stories. This forum seems like the right place to read about your experiences and interact with multiple fans at once. Aside from being a big contribution to the project, it will be fun to hear about everyone’s fan lives.

To get the whole thing going, here are some questions that should cover what I’m personally interested in:

1. For how long have you been a fan of superhero comics? How did you start? How did yo get your first book?
2. Why are you a fan of superhero comics (what is appealing about them)? Are you loyal to one publisher (DC, Marvel etc.)?
3. Fans often show a great deal of devotion to their favorite characters and books that goes beyond mere reading. Do you pursue any activities aside from reading (e.g. attending conventions, cosplaying, watching documentaries, reading background material etc.)? What does that add to your fan experience?
4. Do you pursue certain “rituals”? (e.g. going to your local comic book store every Wednesday) Is it important to you to buy books at a certain store? why?