Statue Forum 


XM Studios





StatueForum on Twitter StatueForum on Facebook StatueForum on YouTube
Go Back   Statue Forum > Other Stuff > Home Economics > IT Department

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2011, 03:15 PM   #1
joefixit2
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
joefixit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: we know each other, he's a friend from work
Posts: 15,833
question on PDFs and needing a font loaded

Okay, maybe one of you IT people can explain this to me. With my job, I review contracts all the time and sometimes they come in PDF format. I am running Linux (specifically Red Hat Enterprise Linux) and use Firefox and Open Office. Sometimes I will get a PDF contract and when I open it up, most of the pages are blank. There will be some words on the page but most of it is just blank. My system tells me that there are fonts on the page that are not loaded so they can not show them. Isn't a PDF just an image? Why would my system need to have a font loaded to recognize an image when it is not actually typed letters?
joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:26 PM   #2
Vince-Vell
Cosmic Painter
Painter
 
Vince-Vell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In Da Studio!
Posts: 15,192
Not all PDFs are embeded fonts.

Im not sure about linux, but mostly OSX and Windows have basic screen fonts shared with both systems. So if these pdfs being made prob are using those fonts which linux may not have.

Or it could be that you dont have acrobat reader installed which may give you those basic fonts. If you installed acrobat reader and still getting issues, it may be linux.

only thing i could think of.

When i make PDFs out of Quark, it embeds all fonts but the PDFs are big. When i make them out of Illustrator i outline all fonts so its a image/vector.
Vince-Vell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:45 PM   #3
joefixit2
Yeah, I spend WAY too much time here!
 
joefixit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: we know each other, he's a friend from work
Posts: 15,833
How about that. Thanks for the info!
joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS

Prototypezstudios

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright StatueForum.com