Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Statue Talk - Others > General Statue & Collectible

Old 03-30-2006, 12:05 AM   #1
greenie
Frackin!

Ebay Help!

I am new to ebay and recently placed an offer for sideshow 12" and was accepted. I was thinking of getting another from the same store with a "buy it now". When I sent the seller a question, he tried to get me to buy them off ebay saying the shipping would be cheaper. This is what he wrote:

"...and if you let me sell you one thats not on ebay it would be a little better shipping rate cuz i wont have to end one of my listings"

This raised a red flag because not only is that an ebay "nono" but also the seller had multiple available under the same listing. The seller has a 99.9% feedback but my gut is telling me something is shady. Also. unlike sellers like d, he doesn't have a different business site that you can order from. In fact his site's store is thru ebay. I don't really want to follow thru with the offer I won via ebay now because of this.
Is this something that is common for ebay(buying outside of ebay)???
Any feedback from experienced ebay'ers would be great.
greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 12:11 AM   #2
pablocruze
Minister of GORE/ROT Mod Relations

That's a tough one...eBay warns not to accept offers because you won't have eBay's protection...but then their protection isn't all that great anyway...and they want their share of every sale, so if you made a deal outside of their site, they wouldn't get their commission...the commission may be why he offered to give you a better price...

That being said, there are plenty of scammers out there...if you pay with a credit card or personal check, you have your bank or CC issuing company to back you up which is better than eBay's protection in my experience...go with your gut
pablocruze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 12:14 AM   #3
superash
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.