Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Sculptor's Pit Stop

Old 11-27-2007, 10:12 PM   #1
katherla
I took an IQ test and the results were negative.

gah!!! fingerprints everywhere!!

how do you guys keep fingerprints off your models? wear gloves? keep smoothing them out? i don't really want to wear gloves because i think they'd make my hands clumsey.
katherla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 11:50 PM   #2
riderV3
ROT Minister of Scientific Emergency Management

Quote:
Originally Posted by katherla View Post
how do you guys keep fingerprints off your models? wear gloves? keep smoothing them out? i don't really want to wear gloves because i think they'd make my hands clumsey.
I'm no pro and am facing the same problem.

What I do is I'd just let them fingerprints stay on my sculpt till I'm pretty much done with it,
then I'll let the sculpt sit for a night, the sculpey usually turn harder after you let it sit then I'll start smoothing the sculpt with fingers,
hold it gently and let fingers run through the whole sculpt and that should eliminate significant amount of fingerprints.

If there're still fingerprints that won't go away, I just go ahead and bake it, then sand it with tiny amount of water and 000 sand paper.

OR, your sculpey might be too soft, I mix my regular Super Sculpey with Super Sculpey firm, easier to handle without leaving lots of fingerprints.

Again, not a pro here so see if other real sculptors can offer some useful tips.
riderV3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 04:00 AM   #3
SiMo
A closed mouth gathers no foot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by riderV3 View Post
I'm no pro and I'm facing the same problem.

What I do is I'd just let them fingerprints stay on my sculpt till I'm pretty much done with it,
then I'll let the sculpt sit for a night, the sculpey usually turn harder after you let it sit then I'll start smoothing the sculpt with fingers,