Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Statue Talk - Others > XM Studios

Old 08-28-2018, 11:57 PM   #1
nywst
Doh!

XM Statue Recast or Not?

Hi, this is my first time posting ever so im sorry if this is the wrong place to post this or if I'm not allowed to make this type of post here.

I'm a new collector so please excuse my ignorance. I recently purchased a second hand XM studios venom and am trying to figure out if I purchased a recast statue. The statue itself came in the XM studios brown shipper with XM studios tape. The styrofoam inside had the logo embossed and had the XM straps. There was the art print and an instruction manual. The piece itself is heavy, feels like 30 pounds ish. The only reason why I am questioning if it is a recast is because there were quite a few paint flaws/scuffs on it. In addition to that the statue is a bit wobbly. By that I mean the whole statue including the base is not perfectly flat and will not actually stand flat on a flat surface (it is slightly slightly off). In addition to that, the sticker that is placed on the bottom of the statue (that says all the copyright info, brand names, edition number, etc. was not cut out perfectly and on one side of the base actually sticks out a bit. I have taken photos of all of these. I am a bit nervous because I spent a good chunk of money on this statue and would like it to be real. I own a black bolt and a black panther by XM and none of them have these issues. The registration code on the base of the statue is a bit faded but I managed to read it and it is indeed a real code for a venom statue but it says it has already been registered (presumably by the person who I bought it from). Anyway I was wondering if I may have purchased a recast statue or maybe if somehow someone recasted the statue and got a hold of someone elses legit packaging, art print, registration number, etc. and put the recast in it and sold it to me. Am I being too paranoid? lol
Attached Thumbnails