Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Other Stuff > Digital Photography

Old 03-05-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
FROBAY
Phoenix

Help picking a new DSLR Camera

I have been watching this thread awhile and reading reviews online.

Im in the market for a DSLR, my 1st one. I could use some help deciding. Please help.

I will be using this camera to take pics of Statues, Family and some scenery photos. I would like to take outdoor shots at night. Im looking to purchase soon, so I can have it for this years SDCC.

Im leaning towards a D5100. I would prefer A Nikon or Cannon. I have about 1k to spend. I know Im a beginner but I dont want to buy a camera and upgrade in a year. I would like to get one that will last with maybe 2 lenses.

Some quaestions:
1. Will the Lenses fit all future models of Dslr as long as they are the same brand?
2. Are Motor Zooms not needed in DSLR Cameras?

Thanks for any help.
FROBAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:12 PM   #2
Skullbocks
U talkin' to me?

I've been using a friends Nikon D90. I just recently bought a Canon 7D and I love it. For the price range your looking at maybe a Canon 60D.

I'm sure whatever dslr u get you will not be upgrading in a year. Ive been using my friends D90 for the last 3 years at SDCC.

Nikon lenses work with Nikon bodies. Canon can use both Nikon and canon lenses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FROBAY View Post
I have been watching this thread awhile and reading reviews online.

Im in the market for a DSLR, my 1st one. I could use some help deciding. Please help.

I will be using this camera to take pics of Statues, Family and some scenery photos. I would like to take outdoor shots at night. Im looking to purchase soon, so I can have it for this years SDCC.

Im leaning towards a D5100. I would prefer A Nikon or Cannon. I have about 1k to spend. I know Im a beginner but I dont want to buy a camera and upgrade in a year. I would like to get one that will last with maybe 2 lenses.

Some quaestions: