Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Statue Talk - Others > Pop Culture Shock

Old 06-20-2012, 09:24 PM   #1
BornFreeSF
Kiss my shiny metal arse!

Fixing up my Green Vega

Hey guys

Hoping you can help me. I know there's a number of threads floating around on this subject but I didn't want to get lost in the middle of a thread with a different topic, so I chose to start a new thread :-)

I recently purchased a Green Vega with two issues that I know can be fixed to make it mint again!

Issue 1: Lean. This is common and I know some of you have talked about fixing it with a hairdryer. That's all well and good but I'm no expert at this sort of thing so would really appreciate some detailed guidance. I'm concerned that I will botch it up. I also want to understand what part of the statue is bending? I don't want him to have weird legs.

Issue 2: All my claws are broken. Now I know I can glue them without much trouble because they are clean breaks but they are so brittle and delicate. It's like picking up an ancient relic made of stone and just seeing it crumble by the merest touch (I'm not joking).
I've seen other people stregthen the claws or have them replaced. Do any of you have experience of this? do you know the best solution?

I'd appreciate help on both issues. I live in NY, so if you know anyone who has experience with these issues and has the talents to fix them I'd be really grateful.

Here are the images of my soon to be mint grail.....hopefully!

Cheers
Mark
BornFreeSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:36 PM   #2
BornFreeSF

I literally just glued the claws to see what they would look like:

Looks kind of cool but I need a much better LONG TERM fix. Anybody any thoughts?

Can I replace them with real metal? Should I coat them in something that will strengthen them?

Thanks for your help :-)
Mark
Old 06-21-2012, 01:05 AM   #3
lemonman6