Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Sculptor's Pit Stop

Old 05-07-2016, 02:07 PM   #1
Gearfree
Doh!

Question Armature and home baking question/concerns.

Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to sculpting and have never baked super sculpey before. The last statue I tried making was about 13" tall and made with 16 gauge aluminum wire, wrapped with 18 gauge around it. However, I found it way too flimsy and couldn't support my sculpture. I'm wondering if 10 gauge would be strong enough? I was also looking at galvanized steel as a solution since its stronger, but I don't know if it's safe to put that in my oven that I use for cooking (cause of the zinc plating). I'm not entirely sure about what type of materials are best suited for strength and safety.

I also wanted to ask if it's safe to use super sculpey in the same oven I cook in? I've heard many different things about toxicity and whatnot. I'm just so very confused lol. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I actually found an answer to one of my questions with some digging. On the polyform website: http://www.sculpey.com/?s=super+scul...e=faq_question it says that sculpey is completely safe to use in your home oven and is non-toxic. Just for those curious to know as well! Still not sure about the galvonized steel though.

Last edited by Gearfree; 05-07-2016 at 10:20 PM. Reason: new info
Gearfree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 12:20 PM   #2
cyborgt800
Sey hallo to my lille fren!

I'm not a big fan of sculpey, but when I do use it I boil it as I find it's tougher to burn or discolor that way.
cyborgt800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 04:43 PM   #3
Gearfree
Doh!