Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Statue Talk - Others > General Statue & Collectible

Old 05-20-2007, 12:32 PM   #1
MACATTACK
Borrow money from a pessimist, they don't expect it back.

Does Statueforum.com affect statue prices?

I've been using this site for a few months now, and have noticed that discussions / reviews seem to affect the price that statues and busts can sell for, particularly on Ebay. The SS Doom PF is a great piece (which I do own but in my opinion is not as good as the Hulk PF) but its price has sky-rocketed to over $1000, and I do believe this is due largely to the amount of praise lavished on it through this site. The Hulk PF seems to have levelled off around the $400 mark (for the green sculpt) but I feel that it should be selling for a hell of a lot more. However, the ravings over the Doom sculpt seem to dominate how good the Hulk sculpt actually is. Other threads seem to suggest that $1000 is what the statue is worth, but I'm wondering if sellers feel they can get away with charging such large amounts because of reviewers on this site, which again in my opinion is the best site on the web and is an authority on superhero statue discussion and review. I guess that any object is only worth as much as someone is willing to pay for it, but I also feel that people are also using this site as a way to determine public attitudes and price accordingly? Is this a good or a bad thing?
MACATTACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 12:40 PM   #2
Doc Sonic
Statue Forum MacDaddy

I think this site does represent a good cross section of collectors out here. That being said, yes I believe that the attitude of the forum is a good litmus test for what's going on in our hobby.

As far as the forum "setting prices", no I don't think that is possible.
Doc Sonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 12:44 PM   #3
Poisonous
The Stones, I love the Stones. I watch them whenever I can. Fred, Barney...