Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Sculptor's Pit Stop

Old 05-01-2011, 11:52 AM   #1
Spazzy
Hercules

Hollow statues, how?

Ok, so I am new to sculpting and casting, and from everything I read the casted piece needs to be solid for the pour, but after having to break a few statues as a replacement from Sideshow I noticed even small pieces were hollow, how do they achieve this? links? I really can't figure out how they do it, and am very curious, as it would definitely save some resin when casting....not that I would risk if it is too difficult though.
Thanks!
Spazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 01:48 PM   #2
riteguytu
I was arrested for selling illegal-sized paper.

Its called Rotational Casting or Roto-casting or Slush casting. Basically there's a machine that spins the casting material within the mold until it hardens. You'll then get a hollow piece due to centrifugal force...
riteguytu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:04 PM   #3
Spazzy
Hercules

ah, makes sense, thanks!

Guess I will be making solid casts.
Old 05-02-2011, 01:12 AM   #4
Spazzy
Hercules

saw one of these machines, really cool, but around $4000! yikes, be awhile before I can get that.
Old 05-02-2011, 09:26 AM   #5
Vince-Vell
Cosmic Painter
PainterModerator

some statues have balloons or air pockets put inside them so you save on resin and or not being to heavy

Take a statue of a big hulk and its casted in 4-5 pieces. If you are casting up his torso as a section, you can place a long block of plastic into it. So when the cast is done you pull that plastic piece out and the whole section between his stomach and back is hollow going up to his shoulder blades.