Statue Forum 

Go Back   Statue Forum > Home Grown > Painter's Pit Stop

Old 12-04-2007, 07:02 PM   #1
Grumpy
The X-Men

Airbrush Question

I'm thinking of getting into airbrushing and am looking for advise. Is this a difficult to learn and expensive hobby? How much am I looking to spend for a good starter kit or should I go for something bigger/better than a starter set? What brand should I look for and where would I find it? What paints do you recommend? I am not untalented when it comes to painting and built models when I was a kid but always used paint brushes or aerosol spray. I'm hoping to do more detailed work. Anyway, I'm open to suggestions and direction. Thanks in advance. I know you guys won't steer me wrong.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 07:15 PM   #2
moon_knight1971
Rescue

I'm still learning myself but I'd suggest getting a Badger 100 series (about $70 shipped) and a decent air compressor ($200) that has a regulator & moisture trap.The Badger 100 will be good to learn with and you can still use it when/if you decide to upgrade to a finer detail brush like the Sotar 2020. You'll probably have to spend $70 alone on basic paints. You'll need a Dremmell rotary tool (about $80) to pin & sand whatever kits you're working on. You'll need some hobby glue ($6) and hobby putty to fill the seams to connect the parts. That's just to start. A great place to buy all this stuff at great prices is dixieart.com.
moon_knight1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 07:25 PM   #3
moon_knight1971
Rescue

Forgot to answer your 1st question. Yes, it can become an expensive hobby. After you get the supplies you need to get started painting you will then have to buy the kits to paint. Kits vary in price but usually go from $60 - $200. Obtaining rarer kits can get much more expensive than that. If you're shopping on ebay be aware that most kits coming from Thailand are recasts.
Old 12-04-2007, 08:04 PM   #4
Grumpy
The X-Men